People First

The Arc believes that all people with intellectual and developmental disabilities are defined by their own strengths, abilities and inherent value, not by their disability.


The Arc believes that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities are entitled to the respect, dignity, equality, safety, and security accorded to other members of society, and are equal before the law.


The Arc believes that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities belong in the community and have fundamental moral, civil and constitutional rights to be fully included and actively participate in all aspects of society.


The Arc believes in self-determination and self-advocacy. People with intellectual and developmental disabilities, with appropriate resources and supports, can make decisions about their own lives and must be heard on issues that affect their well-being.


The Arc believes that society in general and The Arc in particular benefit from the contributions of people with diverse personal characteristics (including but not limited to race, ethnicity, religion, age, geographic location, sexual orientation, gender and type of disability)


The Arc of Wichita County was founded in the 1950s by parents and friends of children and adults with intellectual disabilities. The Arc was initially run by volunteers for years and has since moved forward to having over 10 people on staff throughout the year with even more seasonal workers. Our chapter has grown significantly over the years, and now is the host of People First Self-Advocates, the largest self-advocacy group in the state of Texas. Today, we represent over 150 adults and children in Wichita County and have dreams and visions to grow even more in the next 50 years!

Addison Roberts
Executive Director
Jacy Shaw
Suzi Wenzel
Day Hab Director
Crysti Ruth
Program Coordinator
Anthony Watkins
Social & Volunteer Coordinator
Board of Directors

Stephanie Reed, President
Michael Harbuck, First Vice President
Daniel Mendoza, Second Vice President
Keli McCord, Treasurer
Sarah Pitts, Corresponding Secretary
Penney Denman, Recording Secretary
Geoffrey Lerew, Parliamentarian
Amber Flores, Member at Large Hospitality
Brandon Miller, Member at Large Membership
Kelby Tucker, Community Representative
Lisa Philpot, Community Representative
Janice Sons, Past President